How to Become a Real Estate Agent in South Carolina
Follow these simple steps and you're on your way to satisfying South Carolina state requirements.
How To Get Your South Carolina Real Estate License in 6 Steps
Becoming licensed may seem like a daunting undertaking at first, but we’ve demystified the process for you. Follow these simple steps to get started today!
Complete 90 hours of approved South Carolina Pre-Licensing education.
Complete 90 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education, as required by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission. The Commission has approved The CE Shop to be your professional real estate education provider.
The two required courses must be taken in a specific order. The first is the 60-hour Unit I course, which must be completed before you can take the licensing exam. The second course is the 30-hour Unit II course which must be taken after the first. The Unit II course can be taken after the licensing exam, but must be taken prior to applying for licensure.
The CE Shop’s LEAP platform is an advanced web-based portal that offers the best of the classroom environment with the convenience and flexibility of online learning. Through interactive exercises, real-world scenarios, and practical examples, you'll learn everything you need to pass your salesperson licensing exam and start a successful career in real estate.
South Carolina now allows online licensing courses. The CE Shop is proud to offer these approved online licensing courses.
Complete the final exam for each course.
For each course, you must complete all the course materials, meet the minimum time requirement, and pass the practice exam. Each course also contains a final exam, and a minimum score of 70% is required to pass the final exam and can be taken as many times as needed to pass.
You must take each final in the presence of a proctor, and you’ll need to schedule an appointment with a proctor in advance. Find out more about our online proctoring process here and the tech requirements you'll need here.
Complete a criminal background check.
The Commission requires that all real estate license candidates complete a criminal background check. Please click here to obtain your SC Real Estate Commission criminal background check prior to submitting your application for eligibility to take the licensing examination.
Apply with the Commission and take the Salesperson Licensing Exam with PSI.
Apply with the Commission to take the Salesperson Licensing Exam. The Exam Application for Real Estate, supporting documentation, and a $35.00 fee must be submitted in order receive an examination eligibility letter.
Register to take the exam with PSI Exams Online. Once your exam application is approved by the Commission, you will receive an examination eligibility letter allowing you to register with PSI to take the salesperson exam.
The Commission has contracted with PSI to administer and facilitate the licensing exam. Please see the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin (updated version is dated 1/1/2017) for more information. An examination fee of $63.00 covers both the National and State portions of the exam ($55.00 for just the State portion).
Choose a sponsoring broker.
As you go through the licensing process and become a new sales agent, you’ll need to be sponsored by a licensed South Carolina real estate broker-in-charge. Picking the right broker to work with you is a key success factor to building your new career. Here are some questions to consider when looking for a sponsoring broker-in-charge:
- What is their reputation, both locally and nationally?
- What kind of real estate agents are they looking for?
- Are they technologically advanced and up to date with the latest systems?
- How do they support their agents with education and training?
- What kind of commission structure do they offer?
- Do they offer benefits?
- Do they provide their agents with leads and marketing material?
- Is there room to grow with the brokerage?
Per the South Carolina Real Estate Commission's licensing requirements, the applicant must be sponsored by a broker-in-charge and complete the 30-hour Unit II course before applying for licensure within one year of passing the licensing examination.
Apply for your license.
You must apply for your license with the Commission within one year of taking the exam here. The license will be mailed to your broker-in-charge.
SIGN UP TODAY TO GET ALL OF THIS AND MORE IN OUR EBOOK
The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent in South Carolina
Ready to get started?
Check out our course and package options!
Start a free trial today.
Sign up for a free 5-day trial, no credit card required!