South Carolina Salesperson Exam Prep Edge SC Real Estate Exam FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Real Estate License in South Carolina

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in South Carolina is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

How do I get a South Carolina real estate license?

To get a South Carolina real estate salesperson license, you must complete the following steps as required by the SC Real Estate Commission:

How long does it take to get a South Carolina real estate license?

The two most time-consuming factors to getting your South Carolina real estate salesperson license include completing the criminal background check and completing the pre-licensing education requirement. Background checks can take up to 16 weeks. The quickest way to complete the 90 hours of required pre-licensing education is to choose a course provider that allows you the ability to control the pace and tempo of your coursework, such as The CE Shop.

How do I renew my South Carolina real estate license?

The previous 30-hour post-licensing requirement required of licensees in their first year changed at the beginning of 2017*. The previous 30-hour requirement is now part of the 90-hour pre-licensing requirement that must be completed before applying for a license. 

For agents renewing starting in 2018, a total of 10 continuing education hours must be completed every two years by June 30. The 10 hours consist of a 4-hour mandatory core course and 6 hours of electives. 

*A revision to the South Carolina Real Estate Licensing Law (S.1013/Act.170) was signed into law on May 23, 2016, and went into effect on January 1, 2017. Of note, a total of 90 hours of pre-licensing education must be completed before taking the licensing exam and applying for a salesperson license. There will no longer be a one-year “provisional” license issued after taking 60 hours of pre-licensing education and taking the exam.

How much does it cost to get a South Carolina real estate license?

The fixed costs involved in getting your South Carolina real estate salesperson license include:

  • License Examination Fee – $63.00
  • Salesperson Exam Application Fee – $35.00 (includes $10 for credit check)
  • Salesperson License Fee – $25.00 (paid after passing exam)

Variable costs include tuition and fees for pre-licensing education. Other costs may apply, such as a fee for the criminal background check.

Note: These costs are subject to be changed by the state at any time.

Is residency in South Carolina required to receive a license in the state?

No. A South Carolina residency is not required for licensure in South Carolina.

What states does South Carolina have license reciprocity agreements with?

Although South Carolina does not have reciprocity agreements with specific states, a licensee can obtain their non-resident license by meeting certain requirements. Contact the South Carolina Real Estate Commission to obtain more information.

Can I get a South Carolina real estate license online?

South Carolina residents can receive their real estate Pre-Licensing education online through an approved provider.

Can a felon get a South Carolina real estate license?

According to the South Carolina statute, a felony conviction or an offense involving the breach of trust, moral turpitude, fraud, or dishonest dealing can disqualify applicants from obtaining a real estate license. However, each candidate's record will be reviewed and approved accordingly.

Do you need to have a diploma or GED to get your South Carolina real estate license?

In order to become a licensed real estate agent in South Carolina, candidates must have at least a high school diploma or GED.

What is the average salary for a South Carolina real estate agent?

It's difficult to determine an "average salary" of a real estate agent in South Carolina, as many factors influence an agent's income. However, full-time agents with years of experience frequently make over $100k a year. Real estate income is associated with how hard the agent is willing to work to find leads and generate sales.

How old do you have to be to get your South Carolina real estate license?

To become a real estate agent in South Carolina, applicants must be at least 18 years old.

Where do I take the South Carolina real estate license exam?

You can schedule your South Carolina real estate examination with PSI at 855.340.3701 or by visiting their website.

What courses are required for a South Carolina real estate license?

South Carolina students are required to take a 90-hr. package comprising their Pre-Licensing coursework. One course is the 60-Hr. Salesperson Pre-Licensing course, and the other is the 30-Hr. Advanced Real Estate Principles course.

What are the South Carolina requirements for Continuing Education?

Every two years, South Carolina real estate agents are required to complete 10 hours of Continuing Education.

 

Read More About Exam Prep edge

Get the Inside Track for Preparing for Your Licensing Exam

Download the Free Ebook Now »

Ready to get started?

Check Out Our Package Options

Shop South Carolina Exam Prep Edge Now »

Questions?

FAQs

Visit our FAQs page.

Live Chat

Click here to chat now.

Email

Email Us

Phone

888.827.0777