Kentucky Continuing Education Requirements:
|Total Hours||Law||Elective Hours|
|License Renewal Period: 1 year|
Kentucky Continuing Education Packages
|Total Hours||Elective Hours||Law Hours||Price||Add To Cart|
Kentucky Requirement Details for Real Estate Continuing Education
Continuing Education Deadline: 12/31 each year
Renewal Date: 3/31 every two years
If you do not complete your CE by 12/31, you may be subject to pay a fine and take additional steps with KREC in order to maintain your license.
If CE hours are not completed by December 31, a delinquency notice will be mailed to the licensee in mid January. Licensees must take one of two options by February 10:
(1) Place the license into escrow or
(2) File the Delinquency Plan and agree to take the required hours on or before June 15.
Both options require the payment of a $500 penalty.
Failure to take action by February 10 will result in cancellation of the license and notice to the broker that the licensee is not eligible to renew. Failure to complete the terms of the Delinquency Plan by the June 15 deadline may result in a six-month license suspension.
Hours Required By The State: Beginning 1/1/2020 - 12 hours every 2 years (6 hours per year).
Six (6) of the twelve (12) hours shall be completed in the first year of the biennial license period or the licensee shall be automatically cancelled.
- 6 law
- 6 elective
NOTE: Kentucky requires a state specific Continuing Education course (the Kentucky Core Course) to be completed by all active licensees once every four years. The 6 hour Kentucky Core Course replaces the the 3 hour core + 3 hour elective for the year that it is taken.
Seat Time: The Kentucky Real Estate Commission requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.
The CE Shop is an approved real estate CE school in Kentucky; license number NR-0079
The CE Shop's Offering:
- 3 law
- 3 elective
Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 75% and two (2) retakes of the Final Exam are permitted. If the exam is not passed after the second retake, the licensee must re-enroll at no cost (by contacting customer support) and retake the entire course, including the final exam.
Reporting: Real estate course completions are reported to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. The state requires schools to report course completions within seven to ten days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported and posted within this time frame.
Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary by course but are generally one year after order date. Each course has an individual expiration date which is listed in your account.
Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.
Additional Licensing Information
License Renewal Process: The process to renew in this state is to log in to the licensing system online and follow the prompts to renew.
From March 1st to March 31st, licensees can renew their license. Active licensees cannot renew until their principal broker has completed his/her renewal.