Washington Broker Pre-Licensing WA Real Estate License FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Real Estate License in Washington

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Washington is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

Buy your Washington Pre-Licensing »

How do I get a Washington real estate license?

Eligible candidates must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or equivalent, and must complete the following requirements per the Washington State Department of Licensing:

For details on licensing requirements, please visit the Washington State Department of Licensing. For details on the licensing examination, please see the Washington Real Estate Examination Program Candidate Handbook, provided by PSI/AMP, which is the state’s license examination vendor.

How long does it take to get a Washington real estate license?

The time it takes to get your Washington state real estate broker’s license depends on a number of factors, such as the time it takes to complete the required Pre-Licensing education courses and to schedule and take the broker’s licensing exam. Other factors include the time it takes to complete your fingerprint requirement and to submit your application for a broker’s license.

How much does it cost to get a Washington real estate license?

The fixed costs associated with obtaining a Washington state real estate broker’s license include:

  • $138.25 – broker licensing examination fee
  • $42.80 – fingerprint and background check fees
  • $146.25 – broker license and application fee

Note: These costs are subject to be changed by the state at any time.

Other costs associated with obtaining your license include tuition and fees for completing the Pre-Licensing education requirement.

Where can I get my fingerprints taken for my Washington real estate license?

In order to get your fingerprints taken in Washington, you must schedule an appointment with MorphoTrust at www.identogo.com. IdentoGo is the state’s fingerprint vendor. For residents applying outside Washington, call Real Estate Regulatory at 360.664.6484 for a fingerprint card and submission instructions. For more details, please click here.

What are the differences in requirements between first-time renewals and subsequent renewals?

For Washington real estate brokers, the first active renewal period requires a minimum of 90 hours of Continuing Education. For subsequent renewals, a minimum of 30 hours of Continuing Education must be completed. For details on specific course requirements for each period, please click here.

Can I get a Washington real estate license online?

Washington residents are approved to get their real estate Pre-Licensing education online as long as the provider is approved by the state.

Can a felon get a Washington real estate license?

A felony or misdemeanor will not disqualify an applicant for Washington real estate licensure.

Do you need to have a high school diploma or GED to get your Washington real estate license?

In order to become a licensed real estate agent in Washington, candidates must have at least a high school diploma or GED.

What is the average salary for a Washington real estate agent?

It's difficult to determine the "average salary" of a real estate agent in Washington, seeing as there is so much variance. However, according to Indeed.com, full-time Washington agents average about $98k per year.

Where do I take the Washington real estate license exam?

Students will need to enroll for the Washington real estate examination through the PSI website, where they can learn additional details about cost and scheduling.

What courses are required for a Washington real estate license?

Students will need to complete one 60-hr. WA Real Estate Fundamentals Pre-Licensing course and a 30-hr. WA Real Estate Practices Pre-Licensing Course.

What are the Washington requirements for Continuing Education?

Every two years, Washington real estate agents are required to complete 30 hours of Continuing Education.

Does Washington have real estate license reciprocity with any other states?

Washington has no formal reciprocity agreements with other states. However, out-of-state agents with equivalent licensing can typically waive the education portion of the Washington licensing process. Agents will need to apply for this waiver and complete other administrative tasks like submitting to a background check and paying the related application fees.
For personalized and state-specific questions, agents are encouraged to contact the Real Estate Board of the Virginia Professional & Occupational Regulation Department.

For more information about how reciprocity works and which states offer it nationwide, visit our Guide to Reciprocity and Portability.

How old do you have to be to get your Washington real estate license?

To become a real estate agent in Washington, applicants must be at least 18 years of age.

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »