Utah Sales Agent Pre-Licensing UT Real Estate License FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Real Estate License in Utah

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Utah is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

Buy your Utah Pre-Licensing »

How do I get a Utah real estate license?

To become a licensed real estate Sales Agent in Utah includes completing the following:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Successfully complete 120 hours of approved real estate education
  • Complete a background check (with fingerprinting)
  • Meet the statutory licensing qualifications of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency
  • Successfully pass the Utah Sales Agent Real Estate Exam
  • Be sponsored by an actively licensed real estate broker
  • Submit the licensing application and required fee to the Utah Division of Real Estate

How long does it take to get a Utah real estate license?

The amount of time to get your Utah real estate sales agent license varies due to the number of steps involved. Most complete the requirements within a few months. These include completing education, submitting an application for the license, passing the background check, and taking the licensing exam.

How much does the Utah real estate license exam cost?

The Utah Real Estate Exam costs $59 for both the state and national sections of the test. This is a two-part exam (national and state) totaling 140 questions and the time allotted is 4 hours. The UT specific section is comprised of 50 scored questions. The national section of the test is comprised of 80 scored questions.

Note: These costs are subject to be changed by the state at any time.

What are the rules for reciprocity for Utah real estate licenses?

Currently Utah has reciprocity agreements with Georgia, Mississippi, and Alberta, Canada. Check with the state you are interested in working with to see what specific requirements must be met to receive and maintain a reciprocal license.

What are the continuing education requirements after getting my real estate license?

The state of Utah requires 18 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years by the 15th of the month of renewal. You can view our Continuing Education courses for Utah real estate agents here. You can view our full offering for Utah real estate education here.

Can I get a Utah real estate license online?

Utah residents can get their real estate license online as long as the education provider is approved by the Utah Division of Real Estate.

Can a felon get a Utah real estate license?

According to the Utah Division of Real Estate website, "an applicant does not qualify for a real estate license if he or she has had any felony in the last five years (starting from the time of conviction/plea or completion of any jail/prison sentence) OR if the applicant has any misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years."

Do you need to have a high school diploma or GED to get your Utah real estate license?

In order to become a licensed real estate agent in Utah, candidates must have at least a high school diploma or GED.

What is the average salary for a Utah real estate agent?

According to Indeed.com, agents make on average $75k a year in Utah. The longer the agent works in real estate, the more likely they are to increase their income.

How old do you have to be to get your Utah real estate license?

In order to become a real estate agent in Utah, the candidate must be at least 18 years of age.

Where do I take the Utah real estate license exam?

Students will complete the Utah Real Estate Exam through Pearson Vue. You can visit their website and schedule your exam after completing your Pre-Licensing education.

What courses are required for a Utah real estate license?

There is only one 120-hr. Pre-Licensing course required to become a real estate agent in Utah.

How much does it cost to get a Utah real estate license?

Utah students typically pay between $400-700 for their initial Pre-Licensing education. Students also need to pay miscellaneous fees, such as an application fee, but these expenses are much less than the initial education portion.

What are the Utah requirements for Continuing Education?

Utah real estate agents are required to complete 18 hours of Continuing Education every two years.

Does Utah have real estate license reciprocity with any other states?

Utah has reciprocity agreements with Georgia, Mississippi, and Alberta, Canada. Agents from these areas have an expedited path to licensure in Utah if they fulfill the required administrative tasks, including completing the reciprocity application and submitting fingerprints. If you're not in one of the states with recognized reciprocity, you have the opportunity to contact the Utah Real Estate Commission and provide your work/education history in an attempt to waive the Utah Pre-Licensing requirements.

For more information about how reciprocity works and which states offer it nationwide, visit our Guide to Reciprocity and Portability.
 

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »