Utah Sales Agent Pre-Licensing How To Get a Real Estate License In Utah
4 Steps To Get Your Utah Sales Agent License
Getting your Utah real estate license might seem daunting, but we’re here to guide you
through the process.
Read on to learn about the four steps you’ll need to complete before starting your career in Utah real estate. To learn about how much it costs to get your real estate license, visit our Utah Pre-Licensing pricing page.Buy your Utah Pre-Licensing »
- You must be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- You must also not have had a felony in the last five years, or a misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years, starting from the time of conviction/plea or completion of any jail/prison sentence.
Complete 120 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.
Successfully complete 120 clock-hours of approved Pre-Licensing sales agent education. These courses must be completed no longer than one year before applying for a license. Learn more about your package options here.
If you are licensed in another state, you may qualify for an education waiver. Please contact the Utah Division of Real Estate for more information.
Pass the course final exam.
After you complete all the course materials, there is a final exam. The minimum passing score is 70%.
Pass the Utah real estate sales agent exam.
Pearson VUE administers the Utah real estate sales agent licensing exam. This test is comprised of two portions, covering both state and national requirements. For more information, see the Pearson VUE candidate information bulletin.
If you want help passing your Utah real estate exam, The CE Shop also offers comprehensive Exam Prep tailored to Utah.
Once you have passed the Utah sales agent exam, you must submit an online application for a license within 90 days. You must submit the following documents. The Utah Divison of Real Estate checklist will ensure you submit a complete application.
- Completed and signed application (issued at the testing center).
- Signed original school certificates (issued by the real estate school) or Education Waiver (issued by the Division).
- Signed responses to the Qualifying Questionnaire (issued at the testing center) and supporting documentation to any "YES" answers.
- Two fingerprint cards (Blue FD-258) or receipt of electronic fingerprint submission and a signed Fingerprint Waiver (issued at the testing center). Starting January 1, 2020, all new applications for real estate and appraisal licensees will need to obtain a fingerprint background check and enroll in Rap Back.
- Pay any required fees. See current fees for sales agent application.
- Completed Certification of Legal Presence.