Arizona Salesperson Pre-Licensing How to Get Your Arizona Real Estate License
6 Steps To Get An Arizona Salesperson License
Getting your Arizona real estate license might seem a bit daunting, but we’re here to guide you through the process. Read on to learn about the six steps you’ll need to complete before starting a career in Arizona real estate.
To find out how much it costs to get your real estate license, visit our Arizona Pre-Licensing pricing page.
Complete 96 hours of approved pre-licensing education.
Arizona is a non-reciprocal state. Complete 96 hours of Real Estate Salesperson pre-licensing education at an approved Arizona real estate school.
Pass the course final exam.
The course final examination must be proctored at an ADRE approved real estate school, college or university. To learn more about proctoring, Arizona-specific instructions, and to see a list of proctoring locations in Arizona, please see our proctoring information page.
Obtain required documents.
Fingerprint Clearance Card - The Fingerprint Clearance Card is issued by the Arizona Department of Public Safety. The application packet of information may be obtained from DPS or real estate schools. The process for obtaining the Fingerprint Clearance Card may take as long as eight to ten weeks. See more information about the Fingerprint Clearance Card here.
Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244) - Information and documentation relating to the applicant’s background must be provided upon application for licensure. Date of birth and Social Security Number are required.
Criminal convictions and background disclosure on the Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244) must be completed by all applicants, and depending on disclosures made, additional documents and information may be required. The Department CANNOT issue a license to a person convicted of a felony who is incarcerated, paroled or under community supervision or on probation.
The Department may not issue a license to a person who has been convicted of a felony or convicted of a misdemeanor offense, such as (but not limited to) theft, forgery, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, violence against another person, or crimes of moral turpitude. A Fingerprint Clearance Card issued by DPS is required by all applicants at the time of application.
Disclosure Document Checklist (LI-400) - When applying for an original license and disclosing a criminal conviction, adverse civil judgment, or denial of or discipline against a professional or occupational license on the Disclosure Document Checklist Form (LI-400), additional documents and information identified on must be provided.
Schedule and pass the Arizona Real Estate exam.
Contact Pearson VUE at www.pearsonvue.com to schedule the state and national examinations. Be prepared to provide to the exam administrator two forms of current signature identification, including one government-issued I.D. with photo and the Salesperson Education Certificate for the 96 hours of schooling. There is also an examination fee. Fees are subject to change without notice.
If you want help passing your real estate exam, The CE Shop offers comprehensive Exam Prep tailored to Arizona.
Take the 6-Hour Contract Writing Course
Prior to applying for your license, you must take a 6-Hour Contract Writing Course (including obtaining a certificate). The CE Shop offers this course here.
Apply for your license.
Salesperson license application must occur within one year from the date of passing the national and state-specific portions of the AZ Real Estate exam. Submitting an application by 5 PM on the last business day of the one-year period will require a retake and passing of the State-specific and National examinations.
Necessary documents for a salesperson's license:
- Original Salesperson Application & Fee
- Original Arizona Exam Score Report(s)
- Pre-Licensure Education Certificate- the 90-hour certificate with the authorized signature
- Proof of Legal Presence
- Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244)
- DPS issued AZ Fingerprint Clearance Card
- Contract Writing Course Certificate
- Disclosure Document Checklist Form (LI-400) *if applicable
- Hire on with a Broker at the time of application as a Salesperson & Fee (complete Salesperson/Associate Broker Change Form LI-202), or hire on after licensing online for a reduced fee. The Designated Broker must access the ADRE online system to approve the hire prior to the licensee being legal to work.