Wisconsin Salesperson Pre-Licensing WI Real Estate Agent FAQs
Every Question You Need Answered to Become a
Real Estate Agent in Wisconsin
We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry.
Getting your Wisconsin real estate license is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.
How do you get a real estate license in Wisconsin?
To get a real estate license in Wisconsin, you need to:
- Complete 72 hours of approved Wisconsin Pre-Licensing education
- Pass the course final exam
- Pass the Wisconsin Real Estate Exam
- Find a sponsoring broker
- Submit your Wisconsin real estate license application
Get a more detailed breakdown of the steps required to get your WI real estate license here.
How long does it take to get a real estate license in Wisconsin?
The most time-consuming part of getting licensed is completing the education requirement. This 72-hour Pre-Licensing course takes the average student approximately two months.
However, students who approach the course “full time” can complete the education portion in under two weeks. Most students schedule their state licensing exam right after completion of their schooling. For students who pass on their first try, they can then submit the official state application.
In summary, highly motivated students can earn their Wisconsin Real Estate Sales License in approximately two months, but the average student takes anywhere from 4-6 months, start to finish.
Can you get a Wisconsin real estate license if you have a felony or misdemeanor?
All applicants with a previous felony or misdemeanor must complete this Predetermination Paperwork outlining your criminal history to the state. The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services will review the history and render a decision. This must be completed prior to submitting an application to the state.
What are the requirements to get a Wisconsin real estate license?
There are few requirements to become a real estate agent in Wisconsin. Applicants must 1) Be a U.S. citizen or legally authorized to work;
2) Be at least 18 years old.
How much does a real estate course in Wisconsin cost?
The cost of real estate Pre-Licensing courses in Wisconsin varies by education provider. In addition to the cost of your courses, you’ll need to pay to take the state licensing exam, and there is a $75 license fee that is due at the time of your application submission.
Where do I take my Wisconsin real estate license exam?
You can find a location for testing at the Pearson VUE facility closest to you.
What are the CE requirements for Wisconsin real estate agents? When is my Continuing Education due?
Wisconsin salespersons must complete 18 hours of Continuing Education credits to fulfill their CE requirements. These credits must be submitted to the state every two years on even-numbered years (e.g. 2020, 2022). You can visit the Wisconsin Department of Safety & Professional Services website to find the paperwork for submitting your CE hours.
Intuitive Design Customized for You
When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.Take Our Course Tour »