West Virginia Salesperson Pre-Licensing How To Get a Real Estate License In West Virginia
Learn the Steps To Become A Real Estate Salesperson In West Virginia
Getting your West Virginia real estate license might seem daunting, but we’re here to guide you through the process of how to become a real estate agent in West Virginia. Introductory level real estate agents earn the title “Salesperson” in West Virginia.
Read on to learn the steps you’ll need to complete before starting your career in West Virginia real estate. To learn about how much it costs to get your real estate license, visit our West Virginia Pre-Licensing pricing page.
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent
- Be 18 years of age or older
Complete 90 hours of approved West Virginia Pre-Licensing education
To start, you must successfully complete 90 hours of Pre-Licensing education. The 90 hours comprise the following:
- Real Estate Principles and Practice (30 hours)
- Real Estate Law (20 hours)
- Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
- Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
Pass the course final exams
After you complete all the course materials, meet the minimum time requirement, and pass the practice exam, there is a final exam for each Pre-Licensing course. The minimum passing score is 70%.
Find a Sponsoring Broker
To become licensed, you must first be associated with a current and active West Virginia Sponsoring Broker who must sign your Salesperson’s application. In addition, the applicant must include two recommendations from property owners who:
- Have known the applicant for at least two years.
- Are not related to the applicant.
- Are not affiliated with the applicant as an employer, partner, or associate, or with the Broker who will employ the applicant.
- Believe that the applicant bears good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, and fair dealing.
- Believe that the applicant is competent to transact business in a manner that would protect the interests of the public.
It's important to find the right Broker to work with since this person will serve as your mentor as you start your new career in real estate. Here are some questions to consider during your search:
- What is their reputation, both locally and nationally?
- What kind of real estate agents are they looking for?
- Are they technologically advanced and up-to-date with the latest systems?
- How do they support their agents with education and training?
- What kind of commission structure do they offer?
- Do they offer benefits?
- Do they provide their agents with leads and marketing material?
- Is there room to grow with the brokerage?
Submit your application, background check, and fingerprints
You'll need to submit your application to sit for the exam along with a $25.00 application fee. The application must include your certificate of education completion, a notarized recommendation from an active Broker, a certificate of licensure from other states as needed, etc. You'll also need to fill out a background check form, which will cost $45.75 and must be payable to IdentoGo.
Finally, you must either schedule an in-person fingerprinting or follow directions for a mail-in submission. The associated cost is $45.75. To learn more about scheduling and/or mailing in your fingerprints, click here.
Once the first part of your application is approved, your information will be sent to PSI. They will contact you to schedule your examination. From there, you'll need to pay $96.00 to PSI to sit for the exam.
Pass the West Virginia Real Estate Licensing Exam
Once your application is approved, you’ll be contacted by PSI to schedule your exam. The passing score for the National portion of the examination is 70 correct answers, and the passing score for the State portion is 38 correct answers. Please review page 11 of the WV Real Estate Commission Candidate Handbook for more information.
Submit final documentation to the West Virginia Real Estate Commission
Within 90 days of passing your licensing exam, print and fill out the license letter on page 13 of the WV Real Estate Commission Candidate Handbook. Attach your original examination certificates from PSI, then include a check or money order in the amount of $75.00, payable to the West Virginia Real Estate Commission. Upon completion of this task, you'll be one step closer to becoming a licensed Salesperson in West Virginia.