Vermont Salesperson Pre-Licensing VT Real Estate Agent FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Become a
Real Estate Agent in Vermont

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Vermont is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

Buy your Vermont Pre-Licensing »

How do I become a Vermont real estate Salesperson?

To get a Vermont real estate Salesperson license, you must complete the following steps as required by the Vermont Real Estate Commission:

How long does it take to get a Vermont real estate license online?

The time it takes to get a Vermont real estate Salesperson license can vary. It may take up to a few months to complete the required Pre-Licensing education, schedule and take the state licensing examination, find a sponsoring broker, and submit your request for license.

How much does it cost to get a Vermont real estate license online?

In addition to tuition costs for the required Pre-Licensing education (which may vary per course provider), the state licensure examination fee is $110 for a Salesperson.

What is the difference between a Vermont Salesperson & Broker?

In most cases, a Salesperson in Vermont is less experienced than a Broker. There are also more requirements to become a Broker than there are to become a Salesperson. For example, to become a Broker, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Complete 40 hours of approved Vermont Pre-Licensing education 
  • Pass the national and state exams as required by the Commission, within two years immediately preceding your application 
  • Gain at least two years’ experience as a licensed Salesperson 
  • Have at least eight separate and unrelated closed transactions among buyers and sellers bearing no familial or contemporaneous business relation to the applicant

Can I become a Vermont real estate Salesperson if I have felonies or misdemeanors?

The Vermont Office of Profession Regulation (OPR) believes that past criminal records should not automatically bar individuals from being licensed. The office reviews prospective licensees’ backgrounds on a case by case basis. They also consider the nature of past criminal convictions, time since last conviction, evidence of rehabilitation, and the connection to the profession itself. While this path is not available yet, it will be soon. The cost will be $25 for the office to review your criminal history and will require you to submit certain information for review. The $25 will then be deducted from your application once submitted. Please contact the Vermont OPR for more information.

How old do you have to be to get a real estate license in Vermont?

You must be at least 18 years old to become a real estate Salesperson in Vermont.

Is residency in Vermont required to receive a license in the state?

Yes, you must be a resident of Vermont to get a Vermont real estate license.

What are the Continuing Education requirements for a Vermont Salesperson?

Licensees must complete a total of 16 hours of Continuing Education each cycle, which is due in even-numbered years. The deadline for renewal is May 31. Included in the Vermont CE requirements is a mandatory 4-hour course. You are also required to complete 8 hours of approved post-licensure education within 90 days of your license being issued. You will be required to retain the course completion certificate and upload with your first renewal.

What states does Vermont have license reciprocity agreements with?

Vermont does not offer reciprocity with other states. 

Where do I take my Vermont real estate license exam?

PSI administers the license exam at multiple locations.

Is the Vermont real estate exam hard?

The level of difficulty for real estate education varies for each student. That’s why it’s so important to enroll in Exam Prep Edge, an exam prep study tool, so that you not only know what is on the Vermont real estate license exam, but you’ll have the confidence to ace it.

Can I get my Vermont real estate license online?

Yes, the state of Vermont allows a future Salesperson or Broker to earn their real estate license online. If you’re interested in getting your Vermont real estate license online, see how you can get started today.

Does Vermont have real estate license reciprocity with any other states?

Vermont does not have a reciprocity licensing agreement with any other states. However, there are ways to have the education requirement waived by presenting your work history and license type to the Office of Professional Regulation in Vermont. Out-of-state residents are encouraged to contact the commission for personalized questions regarding how to begin the out-of-state licensing process.

For more information about how reciprocity works and which states offer it nationwide, visit our Guide to Reciprocity and Portability.
 

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »