Pennsylvania Salesperson Pre-Licensing PA Real Estate License FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Real Estate License in Pennsylvania

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Pennsylvania is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

Buy your Pennsylvania Pre-Licensing »

How do I get a Pennsylvania real estate license?

To become a licensed real estate Salesperson in Pennsylvania includes completing the following:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Successfully complete 75 hours of approved real estate education
  • Complete a background check
  • Successfully pass the Pennsylvania Salesperson Real Estate Exam
  • Be sponsored by an actively licensed real estate broker
  • Submit the licensing application and required fee to the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission

How long does it take to get a Pennsylvania real estate license?

The amount of time to get your Pennsylvania real estate salesperson license varies due to the number of steps involved. Most complete the requirements within four months. These include completing education, submitting an application for the license, passing the background check, and taking the licensing exam.

How much does the Pennsylvania real estate license exam cost?

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Real Estate Salesperson Exam cost $49 for both the state and national sections of the test. This is a two-part exam (national and state) totaling 110 questions and the time allotted is 3 hours. The PA specific section is comprised of 30 questions and you are given 60 minutes to complete it. The national section of the test is comprised of 80 questions and 120 minutes are allotted to complete this section.

What are the rules for reciprocity for PA real estate licenses?

Currently Pennsylvania has reciprocity agreements with the following states: Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, and West Virginia. Check with the state you are interested in working with to see what specific requirements must be met to receive and maintain a reciprocal license.

What are the continuing education requirements after getting my real estate license?

The state of Pennsylvania requires 14 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years by 5/31 on even-numbered years. You can view our Continuing Education courses for PA real estate agents here. You can view our full offering for PA real education here.

Can I get a Pennsylvania real estate license online?

Pennsylvania residents can receive their real estate Pre-Licensing education online. The online option has become increasingly popular as these schools are flexible and affordable.

What is the average salary for a Pennsylvania real estate agent?

It's difficult to determine the "average salary" of real estate agents in Pennsylvania because many factors influence annual salaries. However, according to Indeed.com, full-time Pennsylvania agents average around $70k a year.

Can a felon get a Pennsylvania real estate license?

Pennsylvania does allow individuals with a felony record to apply for real estate licensure. However, the Pennsylvania Department of State reserves the right to deny applicants based on the nature of their crimes.

Do you need to have a diploma or GED to get your Pennsylvania real estate license?

To become a licensed real estate agent in Pennsylvania, candidates must have at least a high school diploma or GED.

Where do I take the Pennsylvania real estate license exam?

You can schedule your Pennsylvania real estate examination with PSI at 855-746-817 or by visiting their website.

How much does it cost to get a Pennsylvania real estate license?

The cost of a real estate license in Pennsylvania varies, but students can typically purchase their Pre-Licensing education for under $500. Additional fees apply in the application process. Visit the Pennsylvania Department of State website for more information.

What are the Pennsylvania requirements for Post-Licensing and Continuing Education?

In the first active renewal of their license, Pennsylvania real estate agents are required to take 14 hours of Post-Licensing education. Every two years thereafter, Pennsylvania real estate agents are required to complete 14 hours of Continuing Education.

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »