Oregon Broker Pre-Licensing How To Get a Real Estate License In Oregon
7 Steps Toward Getting Your Oregon Broker License
Getting your Oregon real estate license might seem daunting, but we’re here to guide you
through the process.
Read on to learn about the seven steps you’ll need to complete before starting your career in Oregon real estate. To learn about how much it costs to get your real estate license, visit our Oregon Pre-Licensing pricing page.Buy your Oregon Pre-Licensing »
To be eligible to become an Oregon real estate broker, you must:
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Have a high school diploma, GED, or international equivalent.
Register with the state.
Register for an account in eLicense, the Oregon Real Estate Agency's online license management system. Apply for a broker license and pay the $300 nonrefundable application fee in eLicense. When the application is processed, you will receive an Applicant ID number by email.
Successfully complete 150 hours of approved pre-licensing education.
First you need to provide your Applicant ID number and full name to the school. The real estate school will make you eligible to take the license exam.
Then, you are require to successfully complete 150 hours of state-appreoved pre-licensing education. Learn more about your package options here.
Pass the final exams for all courses.
After you complete all the course materials, meet the minimum time requirement, and pass the practice exams, there is a final exam for each course. The minimum passing score on all exams is 75%.
The course exams required for real estate broker applicants are:
- Real Estate Law: 30 clock-hours and 60 question final exam.
- Oregon Real Estate Practice: 30 clock-hours and 60 question final exam.
- Real Estate Finance: 30 clock-hours and 60 question final exam.
- Contracts: 15 clock-hours and 30 question final exam.
- Agency Law: 15 clock-hours and 30 question final exam.
- Property Management: 10 clock-hours and 20 question final exam.
- Real Estate Brokerage: 20 clock-hours and 40 question final exam.
- Comprehensive Final Exam (national portion): 100 question final exam.
- Comprehensive Final Exam (state portion): 50 question final exam.
Schedule and pass the Oregon Real Estate Broker Exam.
Schedule and pay for a license exam online or at (833) 892-5441 with PSI, the testing service provider.
Beginning October 1, 2020 - PSI will be launching the option of remote proctoring for OR licensing candidates. Beginning October 2, 2020 - Students will be able to take remote proctored exam. You can schedule your remote exam on PSI's website.
This 130-question test has two portions covering both state (50 questions) and national (80 questions) requirements. You will have 75 minutes to complete the state portion and 120 minutes to complete the national portion. For more information, see the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin.
If you want help passing your Oregon real estate exam, The CE Shop also offers comprehensive Exam Prep tailored to Oregon.
Complete your fingerprinting and background check.
The background check process will begin when you create a license application in Oregon Real Estate Agency's eLicense system. Then, when you pass your licensing exam, your fingerprints will be taken at the PSI testing center.
You will pay a fee directly to PSI to have your fingerprints taken and processed. Please contact PSI for the current fee. The Oregon Real Estate Agency has advised the Oregon State Police is taking approximately 3-4 weeks to process fingerprints.
Select a sponsoring broker.
To practice as a real estate broker, the applicant must be associated with a current and active Oregon sponsoring principal broker. Your principal broker should see your pending license into the registered business. Learn more about how to find a sponsoring principal broker here.
A license is issued when:
- Your background check clears.
- Your new principal broker adds your pending license into the business
- The Oregon Real Estate Agency completes a final review of your application.