New Mexico Associate Broker Pre-Licensing How to Get Your New Mexico Real Estate License
Learn the Steps To Become A Real Estate Associate Broker In New Mexico
Getting your New Mexico real estate license might seem daunting, but we’re here to guide you through the process on how to become a real estate agent in New Mexico. Introductory level real estate agents earn the title “Associate Broker” in New Mexico.
Read on to learn about the steps you’ll need to complete before starting your career in New Mexico real estate. To learn how much it costs to get your real estate license, visit our New Mexico Pre-Licensing pricing page.Buy your New Mexico Associate Broker Pre-Licensing »
To start, you must:
- Have a high school diploma
- Be 18 years of age or older and a U.S. resident
Complete 90 Hours of approved New Mexico Pre-Licensing education
To start, you must successfully complete 90 hours of Pre-Licensing real estate courses. These 90 hours are broken down into three 30-hour courses:
- Real Estate Principles and Practices
- Real Estate Law
- Broker Basics
Pass the course final exams
After you complete all the course materials, meet the minimum time requirement, and pass the practice exam, there is a course final exam for each of the three courses. The minimum passing score is 75%.
Pass the New Mexico Real Estate Exam
Applicants are required to pass both the State and National portions of the New Mexico Real Estate Exam with a minimum score of 75% no later than 90 calendar days after the first time they took the examination.
Find a sponsoring broker
To be licensed, you must first be associated with a current and active New Mexico Sponsoring Broker. It's important to find the right broker to work with since this person will serve as your mentor as you start your new career in real estate.
Here are some questions to consider during your search:
- What is their reputation, both locally and nationally?
- What kind of real estate agents are they looking for?
- Are they technologically advanced and up-to-date with the latest systems?
- How do they support their agents with education and training?
- What kind of commission structure do they offer?
- Do they offer benefits?
- Do they provide their agents with leads and marketing material?
- Is there room to grow with the brokerage?
Get Errors and Omissions Insurance
You must have an E&O insurance policy in place before obtaining an active license. E&O insurance, also known as professional liability insurance, helps protect you from lawsuits that claim you made a mistake
Submit your fingerprints
Prior to being fingerprinted at one of the approved Live Scan sites, licensees are required to register on the vendor web site. Licensees need the New Mexico Real Estate Commission identifier number, which is NM920263Z, to register. Licensees may also register by phone at 1.877.996.6277. Fingerprints are submitted electronically, and you may pay the $44.00 fingerprint processing fee online using a credit or debit card at the time of registration, or pay the fee by money order or cashier’s check at the Live Scan site at the time of fingerprinting.
Complete the real estate application
Lastly, to apply for your New Mexico real estate license, complete your application with the Real Estate Commission.