Mortgage Essentials

Mortgage Career Resources


NMLS Mortgage Continuing Education State Deadlines

Annual NMLS Mortgage Continuing Education State Deadlines

by The CE Shop Team

Complete Your State’s NMLS Continuing Education Requirements 

Per the SAFE Act, every Mortgage Loan Originator, including Mortgage Loan Officers and Mortgage Brokers, must complete their annual renewal in a timely manner. In many cases, the renewal requirements include at least 8 hours of Continuing Education from an NMLS-approved course provider to maintain licensure, among other conditions such as paying state-specific application fees. 

Did You Know?

The titles “Mortgage Loan Officer” and “Mortgage Loan Originator” are often used interchangeably. To learn the slight differences between these roles, check out this blog.

To avoid any lapse in licensure, NMLS recommends that licensees have all renewal courses and renewal applications completed by the SMART Deadline of December 10th. If you happen to miss that deadline, the At-Risk-To-Miss Deadline is December 17th. If you don’t finish your CE before the At-Risk-To-Miss Deadline, your license may not renew on the first of the year. 

Finally, you’re guaranteed to miss a January 1st renewal if you submit your renewal application after December 31st. Keep in mind that you can face late fees and won’t be able to originate any loans until your MLO license is renewed. 

Not sure what your state’s (or territory’s) NMLS renewal requirements are? Here’s a quick guide for your reference:

  • SMART Deadline - December 10th
  • At-Risk-To-Miss Deadline - December 17th
  • Guaranteed To Miss Renewal - December 31st

NMLS CE License Renewal Deadlines 

State

CE Deadline (2021)

CE Hours Required 

Alabama

December 31st

Alaska

December 31st

Arizona

December 31st

Arkansas

December 31st

California (DFPI)

December 31st

California (BRE)

December 31st

Colorado

December 31st

Connecticut

December 31st

Delaware

December 1st

District of Columbia (D.C.)

November 1st

Florida

December 31st

Georgia

October 31st

Guam

December 31st

Hawaii

December 31st

Idaho

December 1st

Illinois

December 31st

Indiana (DFI)

December 31st

Indiana (SOS)

December 31st

Iowa

December 1st

Kansas

December 1st

Kentucky

November 30th

Louisiana

December 31st

Maine

December 31st

Maryland

December 31st

Massachusetts

December 31st

Michigan

December 31st

Minnesota

December 31st

Mississippi

December 31st

Missouri

December 31st

Montana

December 31st

Nebraska

December 31st

Nevada

December 31st

New Hampshire

December 31st

New Jersey

December 31st

8 + 4 (12 hours total)

New Mexico

December 31st

New York

December 31st

8 + 3 (11 hours total)

North Carolina

December 31st

North Dakota

December 31st

Ohio

December 31st

Oklahoma

December 31st

Oregon

December 31st

8 + 2 (10 hours total)

Pennsylvania

December 31st

Puerto Rico

December 1st

Rhode Island

December 31st

South Carolina (BFI)

December 31st

South Carolina (DCA)

November 30th

South Dakota

December 31st

Tennessee

December 31st

Texas (OCCC)

December 31st

Texas (SML)

December 31st

Utah (DFI)

December 31st

Utah (DRE)

December 15th

8 + 2 (10 hours total)

Vermont

December 1st

Virginia

December 31st

Virgin Islands

December 31st

Washington

December 15th

8 + 1 (9 hours total)

West Virginia

November 1st

8 + 1 (9 hours total)

Wisconsin

December 31st

Wyoming

December 31st

For a complete state-specific renewal checklist, including NMLS processing fees, company renewals, CE requirements, and other renewal information, please visit the NMLS Resource Center.

Late MLO Continuing Education Requirements 

As if missing out on the opportunity to do your job wasn’t enough, missing the Mortgage Loan Originator License renewal period can severely hinder your entire renewal process. Of course, the late application process is determined by your state’s regulator, but in many cases, you’ll be required to complete CE, as well as pay any renewal fees associated with a late application. 

Should you fail to meet the specific requirements to renew with both the state and NMLS, you may be required to retake your initial Continuing Education and re-complete the initial state licensing requirements. 

The best method, as always, is to always use the renewal checklist on the NMLS website and make sure your renewal request is submitted in full before the SMART date.

Are you looking for comprehensive yet convenient Continuing Education options? All of our Mortgage Continuing Education courses are Online Self-Study, or OSS, giving you the ability to complete your CE requirements at any time and from anywhere. Enroll today