Mississippi Salesperson Pre-Licensing MS Real Estate License FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Real Estate License in Mississippi

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Mississippi is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

How do I become a Mississippi real estate agent?

To get a Mississippi real estate license, you must complete the following steps as required by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC):

How much does it cost to get a Mississippi real estate license?

The application fee for a Mississippi Salesperson is $120. The salesperson exam fee is $75.

Note: These costs are subject to be changed by the state at any time.

How long does it take to get a Mississippi real estate license?

The time it takes to get your Mississippi salesperson real estate license varies per person due to the requirements that must be met: Pre-Licensing coursework, exam, background check, and application processing. The most time-consuming factor involved is completing the 60 hours of Pre-Licensing education. Depending on the candidate, the background check may take some time as well. The MREC website has more information for your specific situation.

What is Mississippi Real Estate Post-Licensing?

Mississippi requires 30 total hours of Post-Licensing, which must be completed within 12 months of issuance of your temporary license. Upon completion of your 30 hours of post-licensing education, you may then apply for issuance of your permanent license.

What is the difference between a Mississippi Salesperson & Broker?

In most cases, a Salesperson in Mississippi is less experienced than a Broker. There are also more requirements to become a Broker than there are to become a Salesperson. For example, to become a Broker you must:

  • Be 21 or older
  • Be a resident of Mississippi
  • Have had an active sales license for at least 12 months
  • Completed 120 hours of Pre-Licensing education

What are the Mississippi requirements for Post-Licensing?

The state of Mississippi requires 30 hours of approved Post-Licensing education. Enroll in your 30-Hour Salesperson Post-Licensing course today.

Can I become a Mississippi real estate agent if I have felonies or misdemeanors?

If you have ever been convicted of a felony, you must appeal to the Mississippi Real Estate Commission for permission to become licensed. You will also be required to submit a criminal background history. For more detail, visit or contact MREC.

What are the Continuing Education requirements for a Mississippi Broker?

You need 16 total total hours of Continuing Education, and the license renewal period is every 2 years.

Is residency in Mississippi required to receive a license in the state?

Yes, you must be a resident of Mississippi to get a real estate license.

What is the average salary for a Mississippi real estate agent?

Multiple factors are taken into account when calculating average real estate salaries, including the number of real estate transactions per year and commission fees. On average, a full-time real estate salesperson in Mississippi can expect to make between $50-85k per year, according to ZipRecruiter.com. Among higher earners, a Mississippi real estate salesperson can earn over six figures annually.

What courses are required for a Mississippi real estate license?

The state of Mississippi requires 60 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education. Learn more about your Pre-Licensing package options at The CE Shop.

Where do I take my Mississippi real estate license exam?

There are multiple places to take your Mississippi real estate license exam, and it’s not just in Mississippi. The following are the approved locations to take your exam: 

  • Jackson
  • Metairie, LA
  • Baton Rouge
  • Mobile, AL
  • Memphis, TN

Is the Mississippi Real Estate Exam hard?

The level of difficulty for real estate education varies for each student. That’s why it’s so important to enroll in our Exam Prep Edge so you not only know what is on the Mississippi Real Estate License Exam, but you’ll have the confidence to ace it. What’s helpful is our Exam Prep is included in three of our four Pre-Licensing packages.

Can I get my Mississippi real estate license online?

You can complete your education requirements online. But to actually obtain your Mississippi real estate license, you must take an in-person exam.

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »