Kentucky Real Estate License FAQs
We are here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry.
Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Real Estate License in Kentucky
We'd be worried if you didn't have questions! Getting your real estate license in Kentucky is a big step, so to help, we've collected some frequently asked questions below.
How do I get a Kentucky real estate license?
To attain your real estate license as a new sales associate in Kentucky, the Kentucky Real Estate Commission requires the following must be met:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have a high school diploma or GED
- Complete all Pre-Licensing coursework
- Complete FBI criminal background check
- Pass the Kentucky Real Estate Sales Associate exam
- Have Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance
- Apply for license within 60 days of passing exam
How long does it take to get a Kentucky real estate license?
The two most time-consuming factors to getting your license include completing the FBI criminal background check and completing the Pre-Licensing education requirement. The background check takes 12 to 16 weeks to complete. The quickest way to complete the education requirement is to choose the 96 clock hours option and utilize the services of an online education provider, like The CE Shop, where you control the pace and tempo of your coursework, allowing you to complete the 96 hours as quickly as you want.
How much does it cost to get a Kentucky real estate license?
The fixed costs include:
- $32.00 for FBI criminal background check fee
- $100.00 for Kentucky Sales Associate exam fee
- $60.00 for sales associate license application fee
The variable costs include:
- Pre-Licensing education tuition
- E&O insurance (dependent on whether group or independent insurance – as low as $126/year for group)
Note: These costs are subject to be changed by the state at any time.
Are attorneys exempt from Kentucky real estate license requirements?
No, attorneys must complete the same requirements as all other applicants. However, if the attorney completed a total of six credit hours in Contracts I, Property I, Property II, and other real estate-designated courses in law school, these hours may be used to fulfill their education requirements for the sales associate license.
Can I get my Kentucky real estate license if I did not graduate high school?
No, you will need an education that is equivalent to a high school diploma or GED. A copy of a college degree or transcript from a college or university that shows completion of at least 28 credit hours will also be accepted. If you graduated from high school outside of the United States, there are additional steps you must take. You can find more information here.
What are the Post-Licensing and Continuing Education requirements for agents?
New sales licensees are required to complete 48 hours of Post-Licensing within two years of initial licensure. Additional questions about Post-Licensing can be answered here. All other agents are required to complete 6 hours of Continuing Education.
SIGN UP TODAY TO GET ALL OF THIS AND MORE IN OUR EBOOK
The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent in Kentucky
Ready to get started?
Check out our course and package options!
Start a free trial today.
Sign up for a free 5-day trial, no credit card required!