Colorado Broker Pre-Licensing
Colorado Real Estate License FAQs
Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Real Estate License in Colorado
We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Colorado is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.
How do I get a Colorado real estate license?
For first-time licensees, the following steps are necessary to get your Colorado real estate broker license.
- Complete 168 hours of Pre-Licensing education per Colorado’s Division of Real Estate under the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA)
- Schedule, take, and pass the Colorado real estate broker licensing exam with PSI Exams
- Submit fingerprints to Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and complete the background check requirement
- Acquire errors and omissions insurance
- Complete license application with eLicense through the Colorado Division of Real Estate’s Online Services
How long does it take to get a Colorado real estate license?
After completing the Pre-Licensing requirements set forth by Colorado’s Division of Real Estate, the Division estimates 10 days’ processing time to get your license, and longer for background check delays. The time it takes to complete the Pre-Licensing requirements is dependent on each candidate’s individual circumstances. The Pre-Licensing education requirement of 168 hours for new licensees and the background check are the two most time consuming factors.
How much does it cost to get a Colorado real estate license?
The fixed costs involved in getting a Colorado real estate license include:
- Broker License Application Fee – $485.00
- Broker Examination Fee – $90.00
- Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) fingerprint submission fee – $39.50
Note: These costs are subject to be changed by the state at any time.
Variable costs include tuition and fees for Pre-Licensing education and vendor fees for obtaining fingerprints.
I’m an attorney in Colorado. Are my requirements different?
The Pre-Licensing education requirement is different for actively licensed attorneys and consists of only 12 hours (in Trusts Accounts, Closing & Recordkeeping). Proof of law license must be provided with course completion in the license application.
Attorneys must take the broker licensing exam, complete the background check requirement, acquire Errors and Omissions insurance, and apply for their license through eLicense with the Colorado Division of Real Estate’s Online Services.
Is there a time limit between completing the state exam and applying for licensure?
You have one year from the time you complete your licensing exam to apply for your Colorado real estate broker license. After one year, broker candidates must retake the exam before applying for their license.
Intuitive Design Customized for You
When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.Take Our Course Tour »