What Is Post-Licensing in Real Estate?

What Is Post-Licensing in Real Estate?

by The CE Shop Team

Are Post-Licensing Courses Required to Get a Real Estate License?

If you’ve been reading “how to get a real estate license” Pre-Licensing pages, then you’ve likely come across some information about Post-Licensing education. In the most simple terms, Post-Licensing is additional coursework required by the state after an agent has completed Pre-Licensing and acquired their license. 

It’s important to note that not every state requires Post-Licensing education to maintain licensure. However, if you’re trying to start your real estate career in a state (or states) with a Post-Licensing education requirement, you might be wondering what exactly that entails. 

Not to fear, this guide will help you understand the requirement as well as the difference between Post-Licensing and Continuing Education. 

Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements by State 

Those looking to become real estate agents and Sales Associates will find that each state requiring Post-Licensing education differs. The table below shows both which states mandate Post-Licensing education courses for real estate agents (not necessarily Brokers) and how many hours are required.

State

Post-Licensing Hours Required 

Alabama 

30

Arkansas

18

California 

45

Delaware

12

Florida

45

Georgia 

25

Idaho

19

Illinois

45

Indiana

30

Kentucky

48

Louisiana

45

Mississippi

30

North Carolina

90

Ohio

20

Oklahoma

45

Oregon

30

Pennsylvania

14

South Dakota

60

Tennessee 

120

Texas

98

Utah

18

Vermont

8

Virginia

30

Washington 

90


Real Estate Post-Licensing vs. Continuing Education 

By now you’ve probably seen the terms “Continuing Education” and “Post-Licensing” casually thrown around, but we’re here to inform the public at large that they are, in fact, two different requirements. 

Post-Licensing education is the education required (per the state law) after a license is issued to solidify an agent’s expertise whereas Continuing Education is coursework that’s required to maintain their license and keep them up to date with industry changes. 

Generally speaking, only first-time real estate licensees have to complete Post-Licensing education as part of their first license renewal. Then, agents can take Continuing Education (usually with a lower hour requirement) to satisfy the education requirements over subsequent renewal periods. 

Is Post-Licensing Required for Real Estate Brokers? 

Though the terms are often used interchangeably, there are significant differences between a real estate agent and a real estate Broker. A real estate agent or Salesperson conducts business on behalf of a Broker or brokerage. With that said, a real estate agent can become a Broker and increase their cut of the commission. If that’s your endgame, the following states require Post-Licensing education for a Broker License:

How Much Does Real Estate Post-Licensing Cost? 

Like the course requirements, prices for Post-Licensing education vary greatly by state. For example, a Florida real estate license requires 45 hours of Post-Licensing education, which can be knocked out for $99. In Tennessee, The CE Shop offers a 120-hour course package for $875. That said, most Post-Licensing packages at The CE Shop typically cost anywhere between $100 and $300. 

Can You Take Real Estate Post-Licensing Courses Online? 

It’s not only possible to take courses online, it’s usually better for most real estate professionals. By enrolling in an online real estate school, you can complete your education around your schedule. There’s no need to commute, no need to dress up, or lug study materials around to complete the online course. In fact, when you learn with The CE Shop, you can fulfill your Post-Licensing requirements on any device at any time while feeling confident that what you’re learning is approved by your local real estate commission.