Oklahoma Sales Pre-Licensing How To Get a Real Estate License in OK
5 Steps To Get Your Real Estate
License In Oklahoma
Getting licensed for your new career might seem a bit daunting, but we’re here to guide you through the process. Read on to learn the 5 steps you’ll need to take before starting your career in Oklahoma real estate. To learn about how much it costs to get your real estate license, visit our Oklahoma Provisional Sales Licensing page.
- Be determined to have good moral character
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States
Complete 90 hours of approved Oklahoma Pre-Licensing Education OR 6 hours of college credit in a real estate discipline.
The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission requires 90 hours of Provisional Sales Associate Pre-Licensing education at an approved real estate school. After completing the coursework, you’ll need to pass your school’s final real estate exam. College attendees with at least 6 credits in a real estate discipline may also qualify.
Schedule and pass the Oklahoma Salesperson Exam
Students can take the Oklahoma Salesperson Exam in-person at any of four locations: Oklahoma City, McAlester, Tulsa, or Woodward. Examinations are taken by computer and distributed via PSI Services. You can visit their website to find the appropriate address. Individuals who live outside of Oklahoma can take the test at any PSI location. There is an examination fee that is subject to change without notice. Some students benefit from enrolling in Exam Prep courses before their test. Not only does it help students pass, but it relieves stress in the weeks leading up to the exam.
Submit your fingerprints and pass the background check
In order to complete the real estate licensing application, you’ll need to submit your fingerprints for a background check. Both the Commission to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigations and the FBI will review your record, then report back to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission. You can learn more about fingerprints and background checks at IdentoGo, a local service that provides licensing and certification services.
Complete the Oklahoma Provisional Sales Associate application
All applicants must have completed their Pre-Licensing coursework within the previous 36 months. Applicant fees exist and are subject to change without notice. To apply for your Oklahoma Real Estate Provisional Sales Associate license with the Oklahoma Real Estate Division, click here.
Find a sponsoring broker
In order to begin working as a real estate agent, you’ll need to find a sponsoring broker. By law, agents may not enter contractual agreements without a qualifying broker’s oversight. This step can be completed at any time after passing your Pre-Licensing coursework, although it is not required until you plan to start working as an agent.