Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Real Estate License in Michigan
We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Michigan is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.
How do I get a real estate license in Michigan?
Candidates for a Michigan real estate salesperson license must complete 40 hours of Pre-Licensing education, obtain three complete candidate endorsements (recommendations), and successfully pass the state licensing exam. For detailed information on this and other requirements, refer to the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs website.
How long does it take to get a Michigan real estate license?
The time it takes to get a Michigan real estate salesperson license can vary. It may take up to a few months to complete the required Pre-Licensing education, obtain candidate endorsements, find a sponsoring broker, go through the application process, and schedule and take the state licensing examination.
How much does it cost to get a Michigan real estate license?
In addition to tuition costs for the required Pre-Licensing education (which may vary per course provider), the state licensure examination fee is $88 for a salesperson, and MI licensing fees tend to vary.
How do I renew my Michigan real estate license?
Michigan offers license renewal online. You can visit this site, register for an account, and complete your renewal. Keep in mind that this requires your license renewal and the Record ID/licensing number therein.
When do I need to fulfill Continued Education requirements for my Michigan real estate license?
According to state law, Michigan requires Continuing Education (CE) in each calendar year of each three-year license cycle for those who wish to renew their current license on an active status. There is no examination requirement for CE in Michigan.