Alabama Salesperson Pre-Licensing AL Real Estate License FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Real Estate License in Alabama

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Alabama is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

Buy your Alabama Pre-Licensing »

How do I get an Alabama real estate license?

To get an Alabama salesperson real estate license, candidates must complete one Pre-Licensing course totaling 60 hours, submit fingerprints for a criminal history background check, take the licensing examination, and complete an application for licensing. Details can be found at the Alabama Real Estate Commission website.

How long does it take to get an Alabama real estate license?

The time it takes to get your Alabama salesperson real estate license varies per person due to the requirements that must be met; Pre-Licensing coursework, exam, background check, and application processing. The timeliest factor involved is completing the 60 hours of Pre-Licensing education, comprised of one course. Depending on the candidate, the background check may take some time as well. For more information on the licensing process, please click here.

How much does it cost to get an Alabama real estate license?

There are a few fixed expenses aspiring Alabama real estate agents should know about ahead of time, including:

$25 criminal records search fee
$30 research and education fee
$77 examination fee through PSI
$150 license fee

Costs that vary include the 60 hours of required Pre-Licensing education. Also, students will need to ensure their real estate school is approved by the Alabama Real Estate Commission.

What are the Alabama requirements for Post-Licensing and Continuing Education?

Each real estate licensee must complete 30 hours of real estate Post-Licensing approved by the Alabama Real Estate Commission within the first six months of licensure for active licensees and within one year for inactive licensees.

Each real estate licensee must complete a minimum of 15 hours of real estate instruction approved by the Alabama Real Estate Commission every even-numbered year by 9/30. The license renewal deadline is every even-numbered year by 8/31.

Can I get an Alabama real estate license online?

Yes, the state of Alabama allows a future salesperson to earn their real estate license online. If you're interested in getting your Alabama real estate license online, learn more about your available options here.

What courses are required for an Alabama real estate license?

The state of Alabama requires 60 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education for a salesperson license. Learn more about your Pre-Licensing package options and begin your real estate education today.

Can a felon get an Alabama real estate license?

The Alabama Real Estate Commission states that persons engaged in the real estate business must be trustworthy, bear a reputation of honesty and truthfulness, and have not been convicted of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude. The AL Division of Real Estate has more information on becoming a real estate agent with criminal convictions.

Do you need to have a diploma or GED to get your Alabama real estate license?

The Alabama Real Estate Commission requires proof of the successful completion of high school or the equivalent in order to attain a real estate license in Alabama. This includes a high school diploma or GED.

What is the average salary for an Alabama real estate salesperson?

On average, a full-time real estate salesperson in Alabama can expect to make between $45-95k per year, according to ZipRecruiter.com. Among higher earners, an Alabama real estate salesperson can earn over six figures annually.

How old do you have to be to get your Alabama real estate license?

To get an Alabama real estate license, the Alabama Real Estate Commission requires you to be at least 19 years of age.

Where do I take the Alabama real estate license exam?

Examinations are generally administered throughout the state and include testing locations in Birmingham, Dothan, Huntsville, Mobile, and Montgomery. For more information about times and locations, visit the Alabama Real Estate Commission website.

Does Alabama have real estate license reciprocity with any other states?

Agents seeking reciprocity in Alabama only need to pass a 6-hr. course on Alabama real estate law, pass the Alabama portion of the state licensing exam, and submit an application to the Alabama Real Estate Commission.

There are additional resources to help you learn more about this process, and you can contact the Alabama Real Estate Commission to ask personalized questions related to real estate license reciprocity.

Ready to get started?

Check out our course and package options.

Shop Alabama Licensing Courses Now »

Start a free trial today.

Sign up for a free 5-day trial, no credit card required.

Start your Alabama Free Trial Now »

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »