West Virginia Salesperson Pre-Licensing WV Real Estate License FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your West Virginia Real Estate License

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in West Virginia is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

Buy your West Virginia Pre-Licensing »

How do I become a West Virginia real estate Salesperson?

To get a West Virginia real estate Salesperson license, you must complete the following steps as required by the West Virginia Real Estate Commission:

How long does it take to get a West Virginia real estate license online?

The time it takes to get a West Virginia real estate Salesperson license can vary. It may take up to a few months to complete the required Pre-Licensing education, schedule and take the state licensing examination, find a Sponsoring Broker, and submit your request for license.

How much does it cost to get a West Virginia real estate license online?

In addition to tuition costs for the required Pre-Licensing education (which may vary per course provider), in terms of fees, you will have to pay $25 to West Virginia to take the exam and pay $96 to PSI to sit for the exam. You must also pay $75 to West Virginia when you submit your license application, and $45.75 for a background check.

What is the difference between a West Virginia Salesperson and a Broker?

In most cases, a real estate Salesperson in West Virginia is less experienced than a Broker. There are also more requirements to become a Broker than there are to become a Salesperson. For example, to become a Broker, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age and a legal resident of the U.S. 
  • Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Submit an application to take the West Virginia broker examination
  • Pass the broker’s licensing examination.
  • Upon completion of the broker exam, you must submit a different application to get your license.
  • Submit proof that you have completed 90 clock hours (6 credit hours) in "Commission Approved" real estate courses if you are currently licensed as a Salesperson in West Virginia. If you are not currently licensed as a Salesperson in West Virginia, you must submit proof that you have completed 180 clock hours (12 credit hours) in "Commission Approved" real estate courses. In order to be accepted, all Pre-Licensing education must have been completed during the five-year period preceding the application date.
  • Have been licensed for a minimum of two years as a Salesperson.
  • In order for the Commission to rule on your experience, you must, at a minimum, supply listing, sales, and property management information for a period covering the current calendar year and the previous two calendar years.
  • You must obtain and submit with your application a Broker's Affidavit on Salesperson's Training form from all Brokers with whom you have been licensed as a Salesperson.
  • All applicants are required to submit to a state and national background check.


Visit the West Virginia Real Estate Commission website for more detail on the requirements to become a Broker.

Can I become a West Virginia real estate Salesperson if I have felonies or misdemeanors?

An applicant whose background check reveals a criminal history must provide additional information. That history and information will be reviewed by the Commission. Such applicants must be approved by the Commission in order to be eligible for the examination.

How old do you have to be to get a real estate license in West Virginia?

You must be at least 18 years old to become a real estate Salesperson in West Virginia.

Is residency in West Virginia required to receive a license in the state?

No, residency in West Virginia is not required to get a West Virginia real estate license.

What are the Continuing Education requirements for a West Virginia Salesperson?

A real estate salesperson must complete a total of 7 hours of Continuing Education each year by June 30.

What states does West Virginia have license reciprocity agreements with?

West Virginia currently has a reciprocal agreement only with Ohio. Ohio residents must contact the WV Real Estate Commission for specific requirements based on the reciprocal agreement between WV and OH.

Is the West Virginia real estate exam hard?

The level of difficulty for real estate education varies for each student. That’s why it’s so important to enroll in Exam Prep Edge, an exam prep study tool, so that you get a feel for your strengths and weaknesses before you take the West Virginia real estate licensing exam, and so that you’ll have the confidence to ace it.

Can I get my West Virginia real estate license online?

Yes, the state of West Virginia allows a future real estate Salesperson to earn their real estate license online. If you’re interested in getting your West Virginia real estate license online, see how you can get started today.

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »