Stay up to date on our 2022 MLO course launches: TheCEShop.com/Mortgage/Newsletter-Sign-Up

South Carolina Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education Courses

Home / Continuing Education / South Carolina

Filter By
Select Your State
Education Type

South Carolina Continuing Education Requirements:

Total Hours National State
You Need: 8 7 1
We Offer: 7 7 0

South Carolina Requirement Detail for Mortgage Continuing Education

Hours Required by the State: 
  • 3 hours of federal law

  • 2 hours of ethics

  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

  • 1 hour of state-specific education

An MLO who has completed their pre-licensure education (PE) course requirements in the same year in which the license was approved, is not required to complete CE.

Course Duplication:

A licensee may not take the same CE course two years in a row. 

Seat Time:

Seat time will be enforced and our online course delivery system manages this requirement.


NMLS Provider # 1405076

Course Completion Reporting:

Mortgage course completions are reported to the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry (NMLS).  

South Carolina- DCA licensees are required to complete their CE courses by November 30. 

The NMLS recommends completing CE prior to the deadline as licensees are unable to apply to renew their license if their CE is not complete.

The CE Shop will report credits to the NMLS within 7 business days of course completion. 

South Carolina Contact Details for Mortgage Continuing Education

South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs
Phone: 803-734-4200
Email: SCMortgageBroker@scconsumer.gov  
Website: South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs

NMLS Resources for Mortgage Continuing Education

South Carolina MLO License Description Page
Professional Standards: Mortgage Education
Professional Standards: Criminal Background Check 
Professional Standards: Credit Report
Professional Standards: MLO Testing