Frequently Asked Questions

ABOUT GETTING YOUR LICENSE IN NEW YORK

 

EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW

We'd be worried if you didn't have questions! Getting your real estate license in New York is a big step, so to help, we've collected some frequently asked questions below.


How do I get a New York real estate license?

Requirements to obtain a NY real estate salesperson license include:

 

How long does it take to get a New York real estate license?

The amount of time to get your New York real estate salesperson license is dependent on a number of factors. Most complete the requirements within four months. There are a number of steps to complete which include education, application, exam, fingerprints, background investigation, and sponsorship by an actively licensed New York real estate broker.

 

How much does it cost to get a New York real estate license?

State fees to become a real estate salesperson are under $100. However, there are other costs associated with obtaining a license to include Pre-Licensing course tuition, examination fees, and any fees required by the sponsoring broker.

 

How do I reinstate my New York real estate license?

To renew or reinstate your real estate license you must complete the required continuing education and follow any other requirements per the eAccessNY License Management System.

 

Will a New York real estate license work in other states?

New York has real estate Broker, Associate Broker, and Salesperson reciprocity agreements with Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia. The reciprocity terms for each state are different. Check with the New York State Division of Licensing Services for details.

 

What do I do when my NY real estate license expires?

You have two years from the date of your license until it needs to be renewed to continue working as a realtor in NY to fulfill your Continued Education requirement. If you fail to renew within that period, and your licenses expires, you will be required to pass the state written examination and submit a new salesperson/broker application and fee. Note: There are no grace periods.

 


SIGN UP TODAY TO GET ALL OF THIS AND MORE IN OUR EBOOK

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Ready to get started?

Check out our payment plan options!

Start a free trial today.

Sign up for a free 5-day trial, no credit card required!