North Carolina Broker Pre-Licensing How to Get Your North Carolina Real Estate License
5 Steps Toward Getting Your
North Carolina Broker License
Getting your North Carolina real estate license might seem confusing, but we’re here to guide you through the process. Note that each state has its own terminology to distinguish between the various license types in real estate. When it comes to North Carolina, what is typically known as a “real estate agent” is called a broker, and every broker starts their real estate career as a Provisional Broker.
Read on to learn the five steps you’ll need to complete before starting your career in North Carolina real estate as a Provisional Broker. To learn about how much it costs to get your real estate license, visit our North Carolina Pre-Licensing pricing page.Buy your North Carolina Pre-Licensing »
To start, you must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be a U.S. citizen, a non-citizen national, or a qualified alien under federal law
- You are not required to be a resident of North Carolina
Complete 75 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.
To start, you must successfully complete 75 clock hours of approved Pre-Licensing courses. In North Carolina, you can now complete your Pre-Licensing education online. You no longer have to go to a physical classroom.
Pass the course final exam.
After you complete all the course materials, you’ll need to pass the final exam issued by your
Pre-Licensing real estate school. North Carolina requires this exam to be proctored, and you can find out more about the online proctoring process here.
COVID-19 accommodation: North Carolina has a rule in place that waives final exams for Pre-Licensing courses. The rule ends on April 11, 2021.
Complete the application.
Pre-Licensing students must submit an application to the Commission before attempting to schedule the license exam.
On The North Carolina Real Estate Commissions website, you can apply for your North Carolina Broker License. You’ll need to create a log-in profile with the commission to submit your application.
At the same time, you’ll need to complete a criminal background check. You can submit your background check online via the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.
Pass the North Carolina real estate examination.
Once your application is approved, you will receive a Notice of Exam Eligibility by email. Upon receiving this email, you will have 180 days to take the exam.
You’ll need to travel to a PSI testing facility to take this test. To find the location nearest you and schedule an exam, you can visit the PSI website. This exam takes 3.5 hours and consists of 120 questions with both state and national portions. You’ll need to get 29 out of 40 state exam questions correct and 57 out of 80 national exam questions correct.
If you want extra training before passing your real estate exam, The CE Shop offers comprehensive Exam Prep tailored to North Carolina.
Choose a sponsoring broker.
To be licensed on active status, you must be employed or associated with a current and active North Carolina real estate brokerage firm or sole proprietor. Picking the right broker to work with is a key factor towards success as you build your new career. Here are some questions to consider when looking for a sponsoring broker:
- What kind of real estate agents are they looking for?
- What is their reputation, both locally and nationally?
- Are they technologically advanced and up to date with the latest systems?
- How do they support their agents with education and training?
- What kind of commission structure do they offer?
- Do they offer benefits?
- Do they provide their agents with leads and marketing material?
- Is there room to grow with the brokerage?