Michigan Broker Pre-Licensing MI Real Estate License FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Michigan Real Estate Broker License

We're here to help answer any questions you have about upgrading to a Broker License in Michigan. Getting your real estate Broker License in Michigan is a big step forward, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

Buy your Michigan Pre-Licensing »

How Do I Get a Michigan Real Estate Broker License?

To become a real estate Broker in Michigan, an applicant must meet the prerequisites:

  • Be at least 18 years of age 
  • Must have 3 years of experience as a full-time Michigan-licensed salesperson (working for a Michigan-licensed broker). Related fields like a licensed builder, developer, property manager, or loan officer may also satisfy the requirement on a case-by-case basis.
  • A record of business experience, competence, and good moral character (meaning no convictions of embezzlement, misappropriation of funds, or fraud)

Once the prerequisites have been met, an applicant must: 

  • Complete 90-hours of commission-approved Broker Pre-Licensing education (An MBA or law degree may substitute for 60-hours)
  • Pass the coursework final exam with a score of 70% or greater.
  • Pass the state-issued Broker License exam.
  • Submit license application to the state

How Long Does It Take to Get a Michigan Real Estate Broker License Online?

With the exception of the state-issued exam, the Michigan real estate education required by the state can be completed entirely online. Therefore, the CE Shop offers 90-hour packages that can be completed online. If students complete 8 hours of coursework per day they could satisfy the requirement in as few as 12 days. 

How Much Does It Cost to Get a Michigan Real Estate Broker License Online?

In addition to the cost of education and the application fee, those looking to acquire a real estate license will have to pay:

  • $79 Exam Fee (For Sole Proprietor)  

What is the Difference Between a Michigan Salesperson License and Michigan Broker License?

A Salesperson is licensed to conduct business on behalf of a Broker and cannot operate independently of a brokerage. A licensed Salesperson can become a Broker if they complete the required education and examination requirements.

Can I Become a Michigan Real Estate Broker if I Have Felonies or Misdemeanors?

Applicants must have a record of business experience, competence, and good moral character (meaning no convictions of embezzlement, misappropriation of funds, or fraud).

How Old Do You Have to Be to Get a Broker License in Michigan?

Applicants must be 18 years of age.

Is Residency in Michigan Required to Receive a Broker License in the State?

No, applicants do not have to be a resident of Michigan to receive a Michigan Broker License.

What Are the Continuing Education Requirements for a Real Estate Broker in Michigan?

Michigan real estate Brokers are required to complete 18 hours of Continuing Education every three years. 

Which States Does Michigan Have License Reciprocity Agreements With?

Michigan does not have direct reciprocity with any state.

Can I Get My Michigan Real Estate Broker License Online?

The required 90-hours of coursework can be completed online. 

What Is the Average Salary of a Michigan Real Estate Broker?

According to Indeed.com, the average annual salary of a real estate agent in Michigan is $101,609, so theoretically, a Broker would earn more.

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »

Ready to get started?

Check out our course and package options.

Shop Michigan Licensing Courses Now »

Start a free trial today.

Sign up for a free 5-day trial, no credit card required.

Start your Michigan Free Trial Now »