Michigan Broker Pre-Licensing How To Get Your MI Real Estate License

Learn the Steps To Become a Real Estate Broker In Michigan

Are you ready to become a real estate broker in Michigan? In this guide, we cover the steps (including prerequisites) you’ll need to take to upgrade your real estate salesperson license and take your Michigan real estate career to the next level.

Before we begin, it should be noted that Michigan Brokers fall into two categories: Associate Brokers and Individual Brokers. Associate Brokers work on behalf of another Broker whereas Individual Brokers work for themselves (sole proprietors). These steps are for those seeking an individual Broker’s License.

Buy your Michigan Pre-Licensing »

 

Prerequisites

Before you enroll in coursework be sure you meet the following Broker License prerequisites:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have 3 years of experience as a full-time Michigan-licensed salesperson (working for a Michigan-licensed broker). Related fields like a licensed builder, developer, property manager, or loan officer may also satisfy the requirement on a case-by-case basis.
  • A record of business experience, competence, and good moral character (meaning no convictions of embezzlement, misappropriation of funds, or fraud).

  1. Complete 90 hours of a Michigan-Approved Broker Licensing education.

    Once you’ve met the prerequisites, it’s time to begin the 90-hours of Michigan state-approved Broker Pre-Licensing education coursework. Of the required 90-hours, the coursework must include at least:

    • 30-hours of Broker preparation
    • 9-hours of civil rights and fair housing laws
    • (An MBA or law degree may substitute for 60-hours)
  2. Pass the Michigan Pre-Licensing Course Final Exams

    Part of completing the required coursework is passing the course’s final exams. Generally speaking, an exam score of 70% or greater is needed to receive a certificate of completion.

  3. Pass the Michigan Broker Licensing Exam

    After completing the course exams, the next step is to register for the Michigan state-issued Broker Licensing Exam. The exam, which is administered via computer at a PSI testing center, will cost $79. Those taking the broker exam will be allotted 3.5 hours to complete the exam.

  4. Create an MiPLUS Account (if you don’t already have one)

    If you haven’t done so already, make sure you have set up a MiPLUS account with the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. The state no longer accepts physical applications and renewals via mail.

  5. Apply for your Michigan Broker’s License

    Let’s say you’ve completed your education and have passed your exams. Congrats, it’s now time to submit your license application. Sign into your MiPLUS account and enter all of the necessary information to apply.

  6. Start your own Brokerage Firm

    At last, it’s time to start your own brokerage firm and get to work building your real estate empire. Brokers must register (including the business name and which type of company they choose e.g. sole proprietorship, LLC, etc.) with the Business Registration Division (BREG). It's also wise to consult with both your tax and insurance professionals as you take the next big step in your real estate career.

Get Your License Online

The CE Shop’s online platform, self-paced courses, and   student satisfaction are only some of the reasons that makes us the best in real estate education. Take the first step in your real estate career today!

GET LICENSED »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »

Ready to get started?

Check out our course and package options.

Shop Michigan Licensing Courses Now »

Start a free trial today.

Sign up for a free 5-day trial, no credit card required.

Start your Michigan Free Trial Now »