Massachusetts Broker Pre-Licensing How to Upgrade Your MA Real Estate License

5 Steps Toward Getting Your Massachusetts Broker License

Getting an upgraded license might seem a bit daunting, but we’re here to guide you through the process. Read on to learn the five steps you’ll need to take before upgrading your license in Massachusetts real estate.
 

 

DOWNLOAD THE STEPS »


 

Prerequisites

  • Be at least eighteen years of age.
  • Have a current Massachusetts salesperson license.
  • Have been licensed and affiliated with a Massachusetts broker in the capacity of a Massachusetts real estate salesperson for three years at a minimum of twenty-five hours per week. The experience requirement must be no more than two years old when the examination is taken.

  1. Complete 40 hours of approved Massachusetts Pre-Licensing broker education.

    Complete 40 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education, as required by the Massachusetts Real Estate Board. The CE Shop is an approved education provider in the state of Massachusetts.

    The CE Shop’s LEAP platform is an advanced web-based portal that offers the best of the classroom environment with the convenience and flexibility of online learning. Through interactive exercises, real-world scenarios, and practical examples, you'll learn everything you need to pass your broker licensing exam and start a successful career in real estate.

  2. Pass the final exam for your course.

    You must complete all the course materials, meet the minimum time requirement of 40 hours, and pass the practice exam. The course also contains a 120-question final exam that must be passed.

  3. Fill out or obtain completed forms.

    Have a $5,000 surety bond on the original enclosed form (a copy is not acceptable) completed and signed by the insurance agent, signed by the principal candidate/examinee, and witnessed.

    Obtain three complete candidate endorsements from individuals unrelated to the applicant. They do not need to be Massachusetts residents.

    The Broker must endorse the Employing Broker Certification form. The Employing Broker Certification form must be completed in its entirety by only the employing broker. Only the original completed form will be accepted. Copies are not permitted.

    An applicant for a broker’s license may use prior salesperson experience so long as the experience is not over two years old and/or there has not been a two year gap in time between the current and past salesperson experience. In the event that a salesperson affiliates with more than one broker at various times, two employing broker certification forms are provided. If more than two forms are required, signed and dated letter(s) must be obtained from the additional broker(s), preferably using their business letterhead(s), and MUST include all features of the original Employing Broker Certification.

    Fill out the application for examination.

    All forms noted above can be found in the Massachusetts Candidate Information Bulletin.

  4. Schedule and take the Massachusetts Real Estate Exam with PSI.

    Candidates must mail their application to the PSI office in Las Vegas to get pre-approved to take the licensing exam. Brokers should include:

    • Application for examination
    • Current MA license number and issue date is indicated
    • Current Picture
    • Correct fee or credit card information included (no cash)
    • Employing broker cerification form
    • Candidate endorsements
    • $5000 Surety Bond form
    • CORI acknowledgment form

    The exam consists of 80 general points with a time limit of 150 minutes and 40 state points with a time limit of 90 minutes. In addition to the number of points per examination, a small number of five to ten "experimental" points may be administered to candidates during the examinations. These points will not be scored and the time taken to answer them will not count against the examination time. A full breakdown of topics can be found in the Candidate Information Bulletin.

    The cost for the exam is $106. Costs may change at any time.

  5. Receive your license.

    Once you pass the exam, you will pay a fee and receive your license at the testing center. The fee is between $142 and $200, in addition to a $12 PSI licensing fee. Fees may change at any time. Your original Massachusetts salesperson license or inactive license notice will be collected. See more information in the Massachusetts Candidate Information Bulletin.

Engaging Content Created for You

There’s no reason you should be working on boring topics. Our LEAP platform provides the most engaging material to make studying fun and simple, helping further your success on your exam date and beyond.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »

Ready to get started?

Check out our course and package options.

Shop Massachusetts Licensing Courses Now »

Start a free trial today.

Sign up for a free 5-day trial, no credit card required.

Start your Massachusetts Free Trial Now »