Florida Broker Pre-Licensing FL Real Estate License FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Broker License in Florida

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Florida is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

Buy your Florida Pre-Licensing »

How do I upgrade and become a Florida real estate Broker?

First you must meet the DPBR prerequisites

  • Must be 18 years of age 
  • Must have a social security number
  • Must have been registered as an active licensed Sales Associate for at least 24 months within the past 5 years 
  • Be able to pass a background check

After you’ve met the prerequisites then:

  • You must complete all 72 hours of your Broker Pre-Licensing education
  • Pass your final exam 
  • Pass the state-issued exam with at least a 75% 
  • Submit your fingerprints to DPBR 
  • Pay the application fee
  • Apply for licensure 

How long do I need to be a Sales Associate before I can upgrade to Broker?

Applicants must have been registered as an active, licensed Sales Associate for at least 24 months in the preceding 5 years under one or more brokers. If that experience was in another state, you’ll need a current certification of license history from the state.

How long does it take to upgrade my Florida license and become a Broker?

The Broker Pre-Licensing Education is 72 hours, plus the state exam, and the background check. The DPBR recommends submitting your fingerprints at least 5 days before applying for licensure.

How much does it cost to get a Florida Broker Real Estate License?

In addition to the cost of your initial education investment, it’s $36.75 to take the licensing exam. The license application fee totals $91.75 ($36 thereafter for renewals) and fingerprinting can range from $50-$80.

Do Florida Brokers have to complete Post-Licensing?

Yes, Florida Brokers are required to complete 60 hours of Post-Licensing education. Unfortunately, The CE Shop does not offer Broker Post-Licensing courses at this time.

What are the Continuing Education requirements for a Florida Broker?

After Post-Licensing is completed, Brokers need to complete 14 hours of Continuing Education for every two-year renewal period.

What states do Florida Brokers have license reciprocity agreements with?

While real estate laws differ from state to state, some states allow current licensed Florida Brokers to acquire similar licensure in other states with a lower barrier to entry. Those states include: 

  • Rhode Island
  • Connecticut
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Mississippi
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Nebraska

Where do I take my Florida Broker real estate license exam?

The test is administered via virtual proctor or in person by Pearson VUE. Testing location information can be found online.

Is the Florida Broker real estate exam hard?

Candidates, in most circumstances, are given 3.5 hours to answer 100 questions, 75 of which must be answered correctly. Example questions can be found in the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s Candidate Information Booklet for the Real Estate Broker Examination.

Can I get my Florida Broker real estate license online?

Yes, The CE Shop’s Broker Pre-Licensing education is 100% online and mobile friendly. As of writing, Pearson VUE also allows the proctored state licensing exam to be taken online.

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »