Alabama Broker Pre-Licensing How to Get Your Alabama Real Estate License
Learn the Steps To Become a Real Estate Broker In Alabama
Are you ready to unlock the true potential of your Alabama real estate career? Follow the steps below to get your Alabama Broker License and take your real estate business to the next level of awesome.Buy your Alabama Pre-Licensing »
Before you can apply for your Alabama Broker License, you must meet or be able to complete the Alabama Real Estate Commission’s requirements. Applicants must:
- Have held an active real estate license (in any state) for at least 24 months out of the 36 months prior to applying
- Be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien, or legally present in the U.S.
- Be at least 19 years old and able to provide a copy of a valid driver’s license, U.S. passport, birth certificate, or any other documentation acceptable to the Alabama Real Estate Commission
- Show proof of high school graduation or the equivalent
- Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude
- Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years
Successfully Complete an Alabama-Approved 60-Hour Pre-Licensing Course
The first step in upgrading to an Alabama Broker License is to complete a state-approved 60-hour Pre-Licensing course.
Note: Before enrolling, you must have held an active real estate Salesperson License in any state for at least 24 months out of the 36-month period immediately preceding the date of application. If this is for a Reciprocal Broker License, only a 6-hour Pre-Licensing course is required.
Pass the Proctored Course Final Exams
After completing the 60-hour education requirement, it’s time to pass the course’s proctored final exams. The details for those exams are as follows:
- Students must score 70% or higher to pass unit exams.
- Students must score 70% or higher to pass final exams.
- The final exam consists of 100 questions.
- The final exam is not timed.
- An applicant has a limit of 2 attempts.
- Proctoring is required.
Pass the National and Alabama Real Estate Broker Licensing Exam
Let’s say you’ve passed the proctored course exams. It’s time to move on to the National and Alabama Real Estate Broker Licensing Exam. First-time Broker License applicants in Alabama must pass both the State portion of the exam and the National portion of the exam, but those seeking a Reciprocal Broker License only have to take the Alabama portion of the exam.
The exam results, which must be scheduled and taken at one of several PSI Assessment Centers in Alabama, must be submitted along with your application to the Alabama Real Estate Commission within 90 days of the exam date, or else the test will be considered null and void. Exam fees are $73. Once the exam is completed, you will be given an application for your Alabama broker license.
Both first-time and reciprocal Alabama Broker License applicants will have to complete a federal and state background check with fingerprinting through astate-approved third party.
Pay State Fees and Complete the Alabama Real Estate Broker Application
The final step in obtaining your real estate Broker License is to send in your application and pay the associated fees to the Alabama Real Estate Commission, including:
- $150 license fee
- $30 research and education fee and $30 recovery fund fee (rf you already have an Alabama real estate license, you have already paid these fees and do not need to pay again)
Non-residents must also complete the Consent to Jurisdiction Form and submit proof of residency in their home state.
Real estate is an industry with endless opportunity and excitement. Don’t hold yourself and your clients back by hesitating — level up your license today.